Sausage Egg Cups

Two weekends ago, I went on a crazy cooking spree and cooked two different paleo casseroles as well as a breakfast frittata, in an effort to make weeknights easier so that I wouldn’t have to cook when I got home from work. That was the thought behind it, anyways.

What ended up happening is that the meals weren’t the greatest (they weren’t bad, they just weren’t OH MY GOSH I WANT MORE NOW), so I dreaded eating them every. single. day. It got old, fast. I’m not sure if I will do it again – maybe it will work out if the recipes are better – but for now I’m pretty burned out from doing that.

And I’m pretty burned out from having to cook every day. It gets annoying. Still working on getting over that.

400_F_45360930_UvqE8hENkiydCu9ZRnnGqTfR1RGUyOOJ

What I did enjoy, however, was having a great cooked breakfast ready for me each morning. I’m much more willing to eat the same thing every morning than I am to eat the same thing for lunch and dinner. So for this week, I found this recipe for Sausage Egg Cups on PaleOMG. I made some tweaks to the original recipe, so here’s my version below:

Sausage Egg Cups

Ingredients:

6 Italian turkey sausage links

1 red bell pepper

1/4 red onion

10 eggs

2 garlic cloves

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes

salt and pepper, to taste

avocado, to garnish

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Cook sausage until cooked through

In the meantime, chop the bell pepper and onion. Set aside

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and cry over the potential lives those little chickies could have had

Add the chopped bell pepper and onion, minced garlic, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and salt and pepper.

Chop up the sausage. Add to the bowl. Whisk everything until well combined

Use a ladle to pour mixture into 8-10 muffin tins. I used foil cupcake liner thingies, but the egg ended up sticking to it, so maybe grease them a little bit.

Place in oven and bake for 45-50 minutes, or until cooked through (stick a fork in it and if no egg comes off on the fork, it’s donezo)

Garnish with avocado

Eat

Go back to bed, it’s too early to be awake.

IMG_5801

These turned out pretty good. And now my wife and I have breakfast for the week. These could be great, too, for an early morning meeting at the office. Or before a run. The choice is yours…

Leave a Reply

