Creamy Dill Salmon and Asparagus Fries

My oldest sister got married when I was in middle school. Her husband, Scott, is a cool guy, and he’s the brother I’ve never had but always wanted. When I was 15, they lived in Cinco Ranch in an awesome house, and I went to hang out with Scott for the night. I couldn’t drive, so my parents had to drop me off (always an awesome feeling), and it was just me and him hanging out. Because I couldn’t drive, and my sister took the car to go do whatever it was she had planned that night, Scott and I walked to Randall’s to get stuff for dinner. Keep in mind – I was a chubby 15 year old at the time – walking anywhere was not my favorite thing to do. But he insisted, so we walked, got some stuff to make grilled salmon and veggies, and walked back to his house. I thought I was going to die. He cooked salmon on the grill along with some bell peppers, mushrooms and onions, while I “helped.” And by helped, I mean wiped the sweat that was pouring off my face from the grueling half mile walk. I’ll always remember that salmon – it was the best fish I had ever had. I remember feeling really healthy that day – I walked to the store, ate grilled fish and veggies, and probably had only a little bit of candy.

It’s funny how your perceptions of things change when you look back at them. Here’s a picture of Scott and me from my wedding. He was my best man.

Mark and Scott

Last night I made creamy dill salmon and asparagus fries for dinner. It was absolutely delicious, and I am very excited to make it again. It’s super easy to make, too – especially if you already have paleo mayo made (which, of course, I didn’t).

Paleo Mayo

1 large egg

2 tablespoons lemon juice (this needs to be the pre-packaged stuff, not squeezed from a lemon. The acidity in the pre-packaged juice is more controlled)

1/4 cup plus 1 cup light-tasting olive oil (MUST be light-tasting. don’t get EVOO – the flavor is way too strong and it will ruin the mayo)

1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

1/2 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

Get out your favorite blender (you can’t use a NutriBullet for this one, sorry), crack the egg and pour in the lemon juice. Let it sit in the blender for at least 30 minutes, up to two hours. It’s really important that the egg and the lemon juice get to room temperature, because of science and Einstein.

Need some suggestions of things to do while you are waiting? Read a book. Play a video game. Go for a run. You’ll figure it out. I believe in you.

Add the 1/4 cup olive oil, mustard and salt, and blend until everything is mixed together.

Now comes the fun part.

You have to slowly, slowly, slowly add the remaining cup of olive oil, while the mayo is actively blending. There should be a little hole in the top of your blender so that you can pour the olive oil in. You want the thinnest stream of olive oil imaginable – the entire process should take about 3 minutes. Again – I believe in you. You can do it.

You’ll know something is happening because you’ll start to hear the pitch change as the liquid becomes more mayo like. My lawyers say it’s called emulsion – but the jury’s still out.

Once you’ve poured in all the olive oil, allow the mayo to blend a little bit longer to incorporate the last little bit of oil. Then you are done. Good for you, Glen Coco.

Creamy Dill Salmon

2 salmon filets (6 ounces each)NOTE: we get the thick, pre-cut salmon filets with the skin still on one side. They are skinny width-wise, but sit pretty tall – maybe an inch and a half. This is important for cook time and temperature.

1/4 cup mayo

1 tablespoon minced fresh dill

1/4 garlic powder

salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (if your salmon filets are skinnier, then preheat it to 450 degrees)

Place 2 filets on a foil lined baking sheet (the original recipe calls for parchment paper lined, but really? Is this the olden days? Who uses parchment paper these days?)

In a bowl, mix together mayo, dill, garlic powder and salt and pepper

Sprinkle the salmon filets with a little extra salt, and then divide the mayo mixture on top of the two filets. Slather that stuff on.

Place in the oven and bake for 15-18 minutes (if you are cooking at 450 degrees, bake for less time. Basically, just bake until it looks like the fish is cooked.

Serve immediately

While the fish is cooking, fry up some delicioso asparagus fries.

Crispy Asparagus Fries

1 bunch of asparagus

1 egg

1/2 cup almond flour

Salt & pepper to taste

Coconut oil, for frying

Instructions:

Chop the woody ends off the asparagus (the bottom of the tree trunk, if you will. Optional – yell “timber!”)

Beat the egg in a bowl large enough to hold the asparagus

Combine the almond flour and seasoning in a second bowl, also big enough to hold the asparagus

Dip the asparagus into the egg and then dredge in the almond flour mixture to coat

Place onto a plate and continue until the whole bunch is crumbed.

Heat coconut oil in a large frying pan

When hot, place the asparagus into the frying pan

Using tongs, carefully turn the asparagus until browned on all sides and cooked through

Fish

And that’s really it. The meal is delicious and super easy to make. You’re welcome.

You can find the original recipes as follows:

Mayo – in “Well Fed: Paleo Recipes For People Who Love to Eat” by Melissa Joulwan

Creamy Dill Salmon – from this post on PaleOMG

Crispy Asparagus Fries – from this post on Yummy Inspirations

 

 

Leave a Reply

