Paleo Update – One Month Later

A month ago, I issued a challenge to myself called the Caveman Challenge – I would eat paleo for an entire month, and see where that got me. You see, I had gotten to the point where I was obsessed with my weight. I would weigh myself every single day, and if it didn’t move down at least a pound EACH day, I would be very upset. If I ever ate anything that I shouldn’t eat, I beat myself up about it. It was bad.

The thing is – I’m in the best shape I’ve ever been in. Sure, the scale has read lower numbers when I was at my all-time-lowest, but I’m doing really good. My problem is that I constantly view myself as this:

Fat

when what I really looked like was this:

Skinny

(by the way, the woman in both pictures? yes, she’s hot, and yes, she’s taken).

I constantly felt (and still feel, honestly) that I looked like I did in the first picture. And that very obviously is not the case. I had to find a way to break the horrible cycle I was in.

So I put up the scale for an entire month. I stopped counting calories. I stopped weighing all my food. I stopped doing crazy fad diets. And I just ate healthy. Yes, I was eating paleo, but I don’t consider paleo a diet – it is a lifestyle. It is a way of eating. And it is SO FREAKING GOOD.

I’ve really enjoyed eating paleo. The options are limitless when you know you can only eat meats, veggies, fruits and healthy fats. I know that sounds restrictive, but those are the only restrictions. I don’t have to eat 6 ounces of chicken breast, 4 servings of vegetables, blah blah blah – I just eat until I’m full. That’s really it.

I stepped on the scale at the beginning of this caveman challenge, and I weight 215. I got on the scale at the “end” of the challenge, after a month of not weighing myself, and I weighed 210. That’s five pounds lost without “really trying.” I didn’t count any calories. I didn’t obsessively weigh my food. I just ate paleo (and didn’t eat paleo, cause this month included a week-long vacation in Colorado and lots of drinking).

So all this to say – I’m a huge fan of paleo. Yes, it’s a lot of cooking. And planning. And dish washing. But it’s totally worth it. So I am going to keep doing it this month. Here’s to weighing 205 by the end of September. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

