Bacon Chorizo Meatloaf

I’ve never liked meatloaf. Maybe it’s because I grew up with foreign parents, and so I never had meatloaf growing up. While all you Americans were eating meatloaf and watching The Wizard of Oz, I was eating bacalhao and calde verde and watching lions eat wild animals. I win.

Meat+Loaf+Featuring+Marion+Raven+meatloaf

My wife LOVES meatloaf, though. It’s kind of scary how much she does. So, since I’m trying to convince her to do this whole paleo thing with me, I thought I would look up a meatloaf recipe in hopes of enticing her to my caveman ways. I did a quick search on one of my favorite paleo recipe sites, PaleOMG, and was immediately hooked at the word “bacon.” So I thought I’d give it a shot.

I made a few modifications, so here’s my version below. To see the original recipe, click here.

 

Ingredients

1 pound ground extra lean turkey meat

1 pound chicken chorizo – yep, they make chicken chorizo. Less greasy and spicy than the pork version, but that same great chorizo taste.

A couple of handfuls of baby carrots, chopped

1 cup chopped mushrooms

2 cups baby spinach, chopped

1/4 white onion, minced (what does minced even mean? I just chop mine)

2 garlic cloves, minced (I use the already minced version you get in a jar and keep in your fridge and it smells like HEAVEN when you open it)

Salt, pepper to taste

1/2 pound nitrate-free, sugar-free bacon (I suppose you could use turkey bacon here, too)

 

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Place everything in a bowl except for the bacon, and play with it. That’s right – stick your hands in, mush everything up, make sure everything gets evenly mixed up. This part is legit fun.
  3. Put the mixture into a 9×5 baking dish. Cut the bacon strips in half so they fit across the baking dish perfectly. Layer the bacon down the dish, overlapping it slightly and covering the meat mixture. Tuck the sides of the bacon in and read them a bedtime story. But for reals, tuck them in so they don’t turn up while they bake. #turndownforwhat
  4. Place in oven and bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Then turn on broiler and cook for less than 5 minutes, just to brown the bacon a little more. Keep an eye on it to make sure it doesn’t burn. If you are a normal person and don’t have a broiler, just turn off the oven and leave it in there for another 5 minutes.
  5. Eat
  6. Cry, because what you just made was so good and SO RIDICULOUSLY EASY
  7. Eat more
  8. Watch a Batman movie

Screen Shot 2014-08-26 at 1.03.14 PM Screen Shot 2014-08-26 at 1.03.01 PM

Yup, that’s really all there is to it. Dump stuff in a bowl, mix with your hands, and cook. There is NO WAY to mess this up. And it makes a good amount (recipe makes about 2-4 servings) so this is great to make to take to lunch for the week. Or if you are having a meatloaf themed birthday party, and you need a cake.

I love eating paleo. There, I said it.

Leave a Reply

