#cavemanchallenge

I love a good challenge. 6 pack abs in 6 weeks? Sign me up. 21-day challenge with My Fit Foods? Yes please. Crossfit? Ouch, but sure. That’s why i’m excited to announce a new challenge I’m starting on. I know. I start a lot of challenges and quit half-way through. But I’m making some changes this time around, and I’m hoping it will help me actually see this one to completion.

I have gotten to the point where I do all of these diets, and they work for a while, but then I get burnt out and go back to my old ways. I’m not breaking any old habits; I’m not forming any new, lasting ones. I’m just making myself miserable for two weeks, and then gorging on food I miss and then getting super guilty and bummed out afterwards. It’s time for a change.

Every diet I have done so far has been very intricate and complicated. Quick weight loss (though it worked WONDERS four years ago) has me eating a certain amount of protein, veggies, fruits, etc every single day. Other diets are way too restrictive and require long and complicated recipes with ingredients I’ll never use again. Still others require me to count my calories and weigh every single morsel of food that touches my lips, completely robbing the fun out of the eating experience. I’m burnt out. I’m tired. Tired of feeling inadequate, tired of constantly trying to eat healthy but failing miserably. Something’s gotta change.

 paleo-diet-is-it-healthy-360x240

I don’t want to make complicated recipes. I don’t want to count every single calorie. So here’s what I’m going to do. I’m going full on paleo (with the exception of sugar-free gum, cause I love that stuff). For those of you who don’t know what paleo is – it’s basically a diet where you eat only what was available to cavemen, all those years ago. A lot of protein, a lot of veggies, some fruit, and some healthy fats. That’s it. So while I’m eating paleo, I’m not going to worry about how much protein I’m getting, or how many servings of veggies I’m eating every day. All I am going to do is plan my food around a simple question – “Is it paleo?” If it is, I’ll eat it. If not, I won’t. Easy peasy.

But where does the Caveman Challenge come into play? A little more background is needed. I have become obsessed with the scale – and my weight – over the past month or so. In a really bad way. I find myself weighing myself multiple times a day, and if I gain weight – even if it’s over the course of a meal because… science – it completely ruins my day. Here’s an example. Last week, I was hanging out at a college buddy’s lake house. I haven’t seen him since college, and we were catching up, and he asked me “Where are you at right now?” He meant where am I working right now, but that’s not what I heard. My answer was “215” because I immediately thought he was asking about my weight, because why would we be talking about anything else?

That’s bad. Really bad. I don’t need to care that much. I’m in the best shape of my life. I’m training for a marathon, running one event a month. Sure, I make bad eating choices, but I maintain a steady weight. So a change needs to be made. Thus, the Caveman Challenge was born.

paleo_diet

For one month, I am going to eat paleo, and nothing else. Yes, I will use My Fitness Pal to track what I’m eating, but not from a calorie perspective. Just from a seeing how much protein, carbs, sugar etc I am eating perspective. I am also not going to weigh myself EVER during this month (with the exception of this morning – 215). If this is going to become a lifestyle of healthy eating and not a fad diet, I am going to need to learn what my body can take without having to scrutinize every single thing I put in it. Plus I need to break this habit of relying on the scale for my true health picture.

Furthermore, during this month (it starts today, July 28, and ends on August 29) I will also keep a consistent workout plan by doing two things: my marathon training and impossible abs (a 6-day-a-week short daily workout plan curtesy of Joel Runyon and Impossible HQ). Also, I will update my blog weekly to let y’all know how things are going.

What can you do? Cheer me on. Encourage me. Ask me how its going. Follow me on my various social media outlets, so you can see how things are going day-to-day.

  • Instagram – Formerlyafatty
    • Here I will post pictures of the foods I’m eating, as well as pictures from workouts and things like that
  • Twitter – Formerlyafatty
    • Follow me on Twitter for my day-to-day thoughts on how the #CavemanChallenge is going
  • My Fitness Pal – markpere2011
    • This is my food journal. I’ll be updating it every day. Even if I mess up and eat off paleo
  • Fitocracy – Formerlyafatty
    • This is my workout journal, so that you can see exactly what I’m doing to burn calories

Hopefully, this will lead to a lifetime of healthy eating. Or, it will be a spectacular burn-out. Either way, I’m documenting the whole thing, so it should be a fun ride. Join me, won’t you?

Leave a Reply

